Day 2 – N7 Armour build!

Sorry for the massive delay, I have been super busy!

Anyway, the armour build is going well, much better then I expected. You can see the progress below, along with some descriptions and pointers of how to make your own. As I said in my previous post, I am using EVA foam for this armour build.So far, I have not had any problems with it. It’s easy to cut, east to shape and holds a good, sturdy shape when the foam cools.

Chest
Chest

What you see here is the chest piece. I know it looks a little wonky, but when it’s wrapped around my torso, it looks pretty good, I must say that I am pretty proud of it. The bottom piece is just a template for the lower torso. As you can see, I have not added the detail yet.

To make the chest piece, I used a thick bit of wood and two circular sauce dishes. (See below.) I glued the dishes to the plank of wood. (Which was originally a door to…something ) and put paper-mache over the top to make the flat bottoms of the the dishes more rounded.

Sauce dishes for boobs!
Sauce dishes for boobs!

I then took my flat chest template, and heated it under the grill until it was soft enough to mould.

WARNING: Wear gloves and a face mask, the smoke  the EVA foam gives off is toxic. Make sure you ventilate your workspace. Do not let the foam burn.

After the EVA foam is soft, it will become floppy. Mould the foam to the breast template as quickly as possible, making sure to press down hard on the bits you wish to mould. Weight the foam down, or have a friend help you. If you don’t do it the first time, repeat the process, but flatten out the foam first before giving it a second try.

This took me six tries.

Chest piece on its own
Chest piece on its own
Leave a Reply

